Inon Z240 & Z220 (Slave)

Ask about gear, cameras, lenses, technique or lighting

Moderators: tswinner, bvanant

Postby MattMan » Mon Sep 24, 2012 12:58 pm

Hi folks!
Well I have always wanted a 2nd strobe.. I did an impulse buy for a Z220 with ball mount and FO cable today for £160 on eBay.
So it's a little dated and doesn't support S-TTL. What would the best way be to use this with my Z240..
Would I have to use the strobe in manual all the time, or slave it off the Z240 to maybe get a sneaky S-TTL equivalent (if so - how?)
I quite like the S-TTL function of my Z240 as it allows me to concentrate on camera settings and still get awesome pics. Just unsure how to set up my new Z220 with it all now..
If it was a bad buy then I think I could sell it for just as much as I bought it for so no real loss.
Advice welcomed :roll: :D
MattMan
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 5:20 am

Postby bvanant » Tue Oct 09, 2012 4:27 pm

You can do this in two simple ways. First, for just one dive forget TTL and use both strobes in manual. Try it out (the 220 can be in slave mode). You don't say what camera/housing so it is a bit hard to figure out the best way. If you put the 240 in TTL and the 220 in slave run it a low power as a fill in light; that can be very creative.
Bill

Bill Van Antwerp Canon/Nauticam/Subal/Inon Lots of glass


Technical Advisor to Bluewater Photo


http://www.blueviews.net

User avatar
bvanant
 
Posts: 309
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 4:16 pm
Location: Los Angeles (more or less)


Return to Underwater Photography Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

cron