planning my first scuba dive with G12

Ask about gear, cameras, lenses, technique or lighting

Moderators: tswinner, bvanant

Postby amb77035 » Sun Apr 10, 2011 2:17 pm

I'm planning my first scuba dive in Sosua, Dominican Republic in July with my Canon G12 during the day. This is my first time taking pictures underwater and I will be diving between 20-50m. Just wondering if the WP-DC34 is good enough for those depths? Do I need a strobe lights that deep? If i do need a strobe light is Sea&Sea YS-01 good enough?

Regards

AB
amb77035

Postby TomR1 » Mon Apr 11, 2011 11:05 am

50M is a bit deep for an underwater housing and the poor light will negate most picture opportunities without a strobe. Generally you can get decent available light pictures on a well-lit day in clear water down to maybe 10 meters. You will either need to shoot in RAW and adjust, use a magic filter, or understand how to set white balance in order to get available light photos and your choice of scenes will be limited to well lit scenes.

Almost ANY strobe is a big advantage. The secret is getting close and shooting up. Strobes don't work past about 6' from the subject and 1/2 to 2 feet (1/6 to 1/2 meter) is the preferrable distance. Try to not shoot against the reef as a busy background confilicts with the subject. Try to get low so there is some water in the background.

In strobe photography the rule is: The shutter speed controls the background exposure. The srtobe power controls the subject exposure. Meter the water with shutter speed. You can drop to 1/80, even 1/60 if you are careful, in order to get blue water and you can increase to the limit of the camera to get a black background. With a strone you will probably shoot between F/5.5 and f/8 anthough in closeup macro work you can go higher.