Printing....

Ask about gear, cameras, lenses, technique or lighting

Moderators: tswinner, bvanant

Postby Tracy » Tue Jul 20, 2010 5:47 pm

Hello Everyone,
As a complete newb to this, and while I'm still getting my head around so much of the post-processing stuff, I have a problem which I'm worried I may be alone in.
My images don't match my prints!

Now I have read heaps, and I suppose my first questions are:
- howcome my non-UW pics can print out relatively ok, but not my UW ones?
- I understand the concept of monitor calibration, but do ALL of you do it?
- should I purchase a simple electronic calibrator or should I persevere with a print next to my screen?
- and just so I understand things, am I right in presuming that whatever colours etc are captured on my camera uw, those are all "correct"? You see, all I want is to print out EXACTLY what I see on my screen with very little post-processing....

Thanks in advance for all your advice!
Tracy

Postby Karl » Thu Jul 22, 2010 2:32 am

How are you doing your printing - is it on your own printer or are you taking to a shop?

If doing it on your own printer are your settings right?

If taking to a printer they can very dramaticaly in quality as well. It might pay to take them to a pro print shop where they can view your images on screen first with calibrated screens and printers and give you some advice. Places like Rabbit Photo and your KMart / BigW photoo expresses don't do that.

BTW I don't have my screen calibrated but I take mine to a pro printer.

Karl
Karl

Postby Tracy » Thu Jul 22, 2010 2:57 am

Hey Karl,
I think your suggestion of talking to a professional printing place is an excellent idea to try and make sense of it all!
Thanks!
Tracy

Postby CompuDude » Mon Jul 26, 2010 8:55 pm