Which camera should i buy?

Ask about gear, cameras, lenses, technique or lighting

Moderators: tswinner, bvanant

Postby Fasando » Sat Mar 31, 2012 3:27 pm

Hello, im about to purchase a camera and an underwater case along with a strobe and maybe some lens, and i do not know which one should i choose.
I was thinking between buying a dSLR, but they seem abit to expensive seeing as i am still an amateur. I got at home a panasonic Lumix GF2 which i can buy some accessories such as macro and wide lens, strobe, underwater case and such. Another choice is buying a new canon g12, with a case, get a nice strobe, maybe 1 or 2 lenses for macro and wide angles.
I could also go on a cheap dSLR camera but the only ones i find are pretty expensive. Which camera do you suggest me to use/buy? and which cases/strobes/lenses go with the best with that camera?
P.S i got till around august till i will buy my camera and case, so until then some other cameras might turn out better but for now which one should i use?
Fasando

Postby Fasando » Sat Mar 31, 2012 3:28 pm

Also, if you could tell me the price ranges of these things it would be very appreciated.
Fasando

Postby bvanant » Sun Apr 01, 2012 3:10 pm

A lot depends on your budget and what kind of things you like to shoot and probably most importantly what you want to do with your pictures. If you are shooting for the web and computer displays for your friends then the Panasonic is a great choice. Scott has great housings for it at Bluewater and you can get strobes and such there too. If you are wanting to make big prints (400 x 500 mm) then you will need a DSLR. A good housing for the GF2 is about $1000 and strobes will be another $700 to $800 and lenses will be another $400 or so. Starting with a DSLR will be a lot more money. What do you want to shoot and how much do you want to spend?
Bill

Bill Van Antwerp Canon/Nauticam/Subal/Inon Lots of glass

Technical Advisor to Bluewater Photo

http://www.blueviews.net

bvanant