Upgrade Help for Fuji F80EXR

A place just for compact camera users. Ask questions or show off your wet lens setup.

Moderators: bvanant, CompuDude, James

Postby linky » Mon Sep 06, 2010 8:26 am

Hi Guys

Enjoying this Forum, starting to learn lots :)

I recently got bitten by the underwater photography bug, I have never used camera before even very rarely on land. So decided to go with a compact first and learn how to walk before running.

I got the Fujifilm F80 EXR with WP-FXF80 housing - standard.

I went on hoilday and managed to take some suprisingly great pics (by my standards :D )
But I also learnt the importance and the benefit of Flash kits and lenses.

These are some of my first pics taken:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/31137258@N ... 962859463/

Now my question is as follows:

Firstly, I dont mind paying a little extra for stuff, Im patient enough to wait for the right thing before I buy (it took me a few months to decide on an F80)

Now I understand that INON have the following setup recommended:

http://inonnews.blogspot.com/2010/05/ac ... fxf80.html

•Fujifilm 「FinePix F80EXR」+ Fujifilm「WP-FXF80」
•「M67 Lens Adapter Base FXF80」 (*4)
•「UCL-330」
•「S-2000」(with supplied “-0.5 White Diffuser for S-2000”)
•「Optical D Cable・Bush W52 Set Type L with Clear Photo System Film」
•「Grip Base D4」
•「D Holder Extension Bar」
•「Direct Arm Z Set」
•「M67 Lens Holder S」
•「UCL-165 M67」
•「LE240」
•「Color Filter・LE Set」
•「Single Light Holder・LE」
•「Shoe Base」

Could I get away with buying the FujiFilm Remora Underwater Flash Kit instead of the INON strobes, as I live in South Africa and its not easy to get certain products delivered here?
Does anyone know if INON are the only people that make lense holders for this housing or similar Compacts?

I am already happy with the pics I have taken, but I really want to be able to get so much more. Am I going in the right direction buy upgrading what I have currently? Or should I be looking at a different setup?