Hello from Argentina/Antarctica

Please introduce yourself here

Moderators: Jornari, cuddlefish

Postby MarceloMammana » Thu Jul 29, 2010 8:40 pm

Hi everybody,
I am Marcelo Mammana. I am an argentine underwater photographer. I've been diving for more than 30 years, and spent the last 6 years, diving in Antarctica and Patagonia.
In 2007, I wintered over at San Martin Station, in Marguerite Bay, and in 2009, I've done in Jubany Station, both times for the whole year.
During the last winter over (2009), the sea froze for more than 4 months, so we had plenty of opportunities to dive under the ice. You are kindly invited to see some of my photographic work at http://www.marcelomammana.com, including a short movie that won a 2nd prize at the Antarctic Winter Film Festival, organized by the people at McMurdo.
I would be more than happy to help and learn from you all.
Best regards,
Marcelo
MarceloMammana

Postby tswinner » Sat Jul 31, 2010 7:07 am

Welcome Marcelo,

Those are some beautiful ice images on your web site. I'd love to go diving there.
Can you tell us more about diving under the ice?

Thanks,

Todd
Todd Winner

Techniques Editor
Underwater Photography Guide
winnerphotography@me.com
http://www.toddwinner.com
tswinner

Postby MarceloMammana » Sun Aug 01, 2010 12:26 pm

Hi Todd,
Thank you for your message and your visit.
About ice diving in Antarctica:
Best time to go is, despite what you can hear/read, winter. During summer months, the sun favors the algal growth and visibility gets down pretty fast. Of course, it is far more difficult to go in winter, unless you are prepared to stay for a year.
Diving under the ice is, for me, one of the most spectacular ways of diving, specially near trapped icebergs. Currents dig caves and tunnels in these giant ice masses, so you can go into, in a spectacular blue realm (you can see some of them in the movie).